menu
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

Kingsmills Hotel

Built in 1978 for William Inglis, who later became Provost of Inverness. The original house is the heart of the hotel, ensuring Guests experience a piece of Scottish Heritage, steeped in the elegance and charm of a building of this age. Guests can still see the ornate ceiling and cornice in the Adams Lounge. Being the home of Provost Inglis, the house was often visited by notable guests, including Robert Burns on Wednesday 5th September 1787. A letter from Rabbie Burns thanking the Provost for the warm welcome during the visit is on display in reception chronicling when Scotland's most famous bard visited in 1787. A mile from the city center and the River Ness, which flows majestically through the center, the Kingsmills has tastefully and yet sympathetically extended over the years to open as a luxury Inverness hotel in 1947. The name Kingsmills commemorates a meal mill, which stood in the grounds of the hotel until the 1950s. Licensing of the mill was granted by the Crown alone until 1575, hence the name: “Kings” mills.

Map of Kingsmills Hotel

Kingsmills Hotel :: More info

Built in 1978 for William Inglis, who later became Provost of Inverness. The original house is the heart of the hotel, ensuring Guests experience a piece of Scottish Heritage, steeped in the elegance and charm of a building of this age. Guests can still see the ornate ceiling and cornice in the Adams Lounge. Being the home of Provost Inglis, the house was often visited by notable guests, including Robert Burns on Wednesday 5th September 1787. A letter from Rabbie Burns thanking the Provost for the warm welcome during the visit is on display in reception chronicling when Scotland's most famous bard visited in 1787. A mile from the city center and the River Ness, which flows majestically through the center, the Kingsmills has tastefully and yet sympathetically extended over the years to open as a luxury Inverness hotel in 1947. The name Kingsmills commemorates a meal mill, which stood in the grounds of the hotel until the 1950s. Licensing of the mill was granted by the Crown alone until 1575, hence the name: “Kings” mills.